Frequently Asked Questions - FAQ - Las Vegas Medical Marijuana Clinic - MMJ Card, Marijuana Card, Weed Card, Weed Doctor, 420 Card, 420 Card
Why should I get a Medical Marijuana Card when Recreational is now legal?
There are several benefits, from higher daily limits of purchase, considerably lower taxes, expedited service at many dispensaries and much more. Going Medical can really help you out time and financial wise.
Are all medical cannabis card services the same?
No. Some advertised services do not meet the stringent State of Nevada requirements.
How can I tell if it is a state-approved service?
The Medical Marijuana Registry request form. This is required to receive the application packet from the State of Nevada.
How much will it cost?
The total cost for a Nevada MMJ Card is $149 for a 1-year Medical Card and $199 for a 2-year Medical Card. State charges total $50/$100 and Las Vegas Medical Marijuana Clinic services, which include consultation, physical examination, post, and notary, total $99. FOR NON-RESIDENT (Visitors) to NV with out of state Driver’s License or Passport, there is no state fees just a one time $40 fee for a 3-month card or $99 for a 1-year card.
How long will it take to get my Medical Marijuana Patient card?
It currently takes 4 to 6 weeks to receive your approval letter from the State of Nevada. Same for out of state patients and their cards. HOWEVER everyone will have a letter of recommendation so they can shop NOW as soon as they leave our offices.
How does the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program work? (For Nevada Cards)
If your physician determines that you suffer from one of the diseases protected under the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program, you may apply to the Nevada State Health Division to register with the program. If the Nevada State Health Division approves your application and you pay the registration fees, the State of Nevada will issue you a Registry Identification Card. A Registry Identification Card is good for one or two years, upon which it must be renewed by re-applying.
What are the patient requirements? (For Nevada Cards)
Must be a resident of Nevada
Must be in the care of an attending physician who is licensed in Nevada
Must be diagnosed with a chronic or debilitating medical condition
Must be informed by attending physician about benefits and risks of medical marijuana
Must receive written documentation from attending physician that marijuana could mitigate diagnosis
Must register with the State of Nevada and obtain a valid identification card
Must not drive, operate or control any vehicle or vessel while under the influence of marijuana
Must not unlawfully possess a firearm
Must not possess or use marijuana or related paraphernalia in public view
Must not knowingly deliver marijuana to a person without a registration card
Must not engage in other conduct prohibited by Nevada law
What are the qualifying conditions?
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Cachexia (wasting and malnutrition associated with chronic disease)
Persistent Muscle Spasms (including Multiple Sclerosis)
Seizures (including Epilepsy)
Additional conditions specifically approved by the Department of Health and Human Services
May I have a caregiver to help administer my medical marijuana?
Yes. Each member of the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program can designate one (1) and only one primary caregiver to help administer the medical marijuana.
Who can qualify as my designated primary caregiver for the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program?
Your designated primary caregiver can be anybody over the age of eighteen (18) and approved by your physician. However, the designated primary caregiver cannot also be a medical marijuana user. And the designated primary caregiver may have only one (1) medical marijuana patient.
May minors apply to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program?
Yes. Minors under eighteen (18) suffering from the chronic or debilitating diseases are just as eligible for a Registry Identification Card as are adults suffering from the same ailments. The only difference is that the minor’s custodial parent or guardian must sign a “minor release” form in his/her application and that custodial parent or guardian must act as the minor’s designated primary caregiver.
May I use medical marijuana in Las Vegas, Nevada, while I am waiting to hear whether my application to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program has been approved?
Once you apply to the Nevada State Health Division for a medical marijuana card, you may possess medical cannabis in compliance with the program’s guidelines pending final approval. If law enforcement questions your right to possess the marijuana, present them with a copy of your application or your recommendation letter from my office you got when visiting us.
If I am approved for the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program, is it good for life?
No. If you are accepted into the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program, your membership lasts only one (1) year or (2) two years.
If you think you will still require medical marijuana for longer than a year or two, you should reapply before the card expires. The procedure is the same as before.
Do other states recognize medical marijuana users from Nevada?
No, with the exception of Montana and Rhode Island. If you are a card holding member of the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program, whether you may bring marijuana to another state or possess it in another state depends on that state’s laws. At this time, only Montana and Rhode Island recognizes card-holding medical marijuana users from other states. Consult with a criminal defense attorney in the state to which you are traveling to learn your legal rights.
Why would my application to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program be denied?
The most common grounds for the Nevada State Health Division to deny you membership into the Nevada
Medical Marijuana Program are the following:
Providing false or incomplete information on your application
Not providing proof of your qualifying medical condition
Not providing proof that you have consulted with your physician about using medical cannabis
If the physician backing your application is not licensed or not in good standing
If you are under eighteen (18) and your parent or guardian did not sign the required statement for your application
If you or your designated primary caregiver has ever been convicted of selling drugs
If you or your designated primary caregiver has ever possessed drugs in jail or delivered drugs to someone in jail
If you have failed to follow any regulations mandated by the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services
If the Nevada State Health Division has previously prohibited you from obtaining a Registry Identification Card.
Does my information remain private?
Yes. The Nevada State Health Division maintains the confidentiality of all applicants to the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program, including the identity of the medical marijuana user, the user’s designated primary caregiver, and the user’s physician. However, if state or local law enforcement ever questions your lawfulness in possessing medical cannabis, the Department of Health and Human Services may release your information to them to verify whether you are registered with the Nevada Medical Marijuana Program